Hide Main content block


Rani Channamma University, Belagavi (RCUB) has been established in the year 2010 by the Government of Karnataka by effecting an amendment to Karnataka State Universities’ Act 2000 by upgrading the erstwhile Karnataka University Kittur Rani Channamma Post Graduate Centre at Belagavi, which was functioning under the aegis of Karnataka University, Dharwad since 1982. Named after the eponymous queen Rani Channamma of Kittur, the first woman freedom fighter of India, the University is celebrating its decennial year in 2020 and is all geared up to create responsible citizens who are the epitome of highest ethics and social conduct. Currently with 389 affiliated colleges, 4 autonomous colleges and a student enrolment of approximately 1.35 Lakhs. RCUB being a very young University; it is the largest University in the state engulfing the jurisdictions of Belagavi, Vijayapura and Bagalkot districts with a distinct academic profile, blending in itself commitment to rural ethos and a modern spirit, and catering especially to the students of North Karnataka, the university has three Post-Graduate Centres, ‘Vachana Sangama’at Vijayapura, ‘Anubhava Sangama’ at Bagalkote, RCUB P.G. Centre at Jamkhandi and Sangolli Rayanna First Grade Constituent College at Belagavi. At present, RCUB has 21 Post-Graduate Departments functioning within the domains of 9 Schools with more than 2100 students. University is also offering six Diploma Programmes and certificate course in Yoga. Around 360 research scholars are pursuing their Ph.D., and more than 90 Ph. D., degree have been awarded under various Schools.

RCUB has been accorded with 2(f) and 12(b) status from the University Grants Commission, enabling the receipt of grants to facilitate the development of infrastructural facilities and take up research projects. The academic life on the campus is vibrant and exciting with seminars, symposia, special lectures and workshops throughout the year. Both the conventional and non-conventional courses of study have updated syllabi responsive to the needs of the contemporary society and the research orientation is innovative, original and directed to social needs. The main campus ‘Vidyasangama’ is in the lap of a lush, picturesque locale providing the right ambiance for University education. Located at Bhutaramanahatti adjacent to the Pune-Bengaluru National Highway-4 at a distance of about 18 km from Belagavi city, the buildings of the University have been constructed on a small hillock, thus blending naturally with the landscape. The campus sprawls over an area of 178.14 acres. The entire campus area is free form of pollution including noise pollution. There is no exaggeration in saying that the undisturbed and pleasing atmosphere on the campus makes it ideally suited for the pursuit of higher education.


Awarded Name of the University: Rani Channamma University, Belagavi
Year of Establishment: 2010
University Type: State University (Karnataka)
Recognized Type: UGC- 2(f) and 12(B)
Number of Departments Running: Twenty one Departments under nine Schools
Number of PG Centres: Three PG Centres:
1. P. G. Halakatti RCU-P G Centre-Vijayapura
2. S. R. Kanti RCU-P G Centre- Bagalkot
3. RCUB P G Centre -Jamkhandi
Constituent College: Sangolli Rayanna First Grade Constitunt College, Belagavi
Study Chairs Established: Rani Channamma Study Chair
Sangolli Rayanna Study Chair
Dr. B R Ambedkar Study Chair
Pandit Deendayal Upadyaya Study Chair
Affiliated Type: University Grants Commission-UGC